Data Quality Gate

THE QUALITY ASSURANCE SYSTEM FOR PRODUCT DATA IN THE GDSN

Nowadays, high quality product data is the necessary prerequisite for efficient processes along the entire value chain and for successful trading on all distribution channels. Therefore, regular data quality assurance is essential. To ensure that the digital product information reliably meets the requirements of retailers, legislators, and consumers, in 2016 GS1 Germany launched a comprehensive data quality program on behalf of manufacturers and retailers.

The goal of the initiative: The establishment of a central body for quality assurance in the GDSN master data pool for the German market so that all product data is delivered to all partners in the value chain in a complete, correct and timely manner.

The application recommendation of GS1 Germany with the title "Securing the data quality in the German GDSN target market" provides the foundation of the program. Manufacturers and retailer have jointly defined procedures for measuring data quality and are continuously developing further validation rules and methods to meet the constantly growing demand on digital product information.

The first version of this data quality standard of GS1 Germany (DQ standard) was released in December 2016. Since then, the DQ standard has continued to evolve with industry and commerce and new versions are released quarterly.
 

THE DATA QUALITY GATE

Accompanying the DQ standard, the so-called Data Quality Gate (DQG) was set up as a central quality assurance system. The DQG ensures the practical implementation and compliance with the DQ standard for data provision in the GDSN. For that purpose, the DQG receives the product data via the GDSN data pool, checks it automatically according to the DQ standard and sends test reports to both the data suppliers and the data recipients. All data suppliers are requested to ensure that all data fully complies with the requirements of the DQ standard by actively using the GLN reports and immediately correcting possible quality issues.

In addition to the further development of the DQ standard, a total of four new versions (releases) of the Data Quality Gate are planned for 2018.

MANUFACTUERS AND RETAILERS HAVE JOINTLY MANDATED THE DATA QUALITY INITIATIVE OF GS1 GERMANY

Industry and commerce develop, adopt, and continuously enhance both the DQ standard of GS1 Germany and the structure of the Data Quality Gates as well as all decisions on the functionalities and processes of the DQG. Therefore, all GDSN users are expected to actively participate in the DQG program.

Data Quality Gate

DQG Hotline

Do you have questions regarding the Data Quality Gate of GS1 Germany?

You can reach us at:

T +49 221 94714420
E dqg@smartdataone.de

Data Quality Gate

Das Qualitätsicherungssystem für Produktdaten im GDSN

Hochwertige Produktdaten sind heutzutage die notwendige Voraussetzung für effiziente Prozesse in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette und für erfolgreichen Handel auf allen Vertriebskanälen. Daher ist eine verbindliche Datenqualitätssicherung unerlässlich. Um sicherzustellen, dass die digitalen Produktinformationen die Anforderungen von Handel, Gesetzgeber und Verbrauchern zuverlässig erfüllen, hat die GS1 Germany im Jahr 2016 im Auftrag von Industrie und Handel ein umfassendes Datenqualitätsprogramm gestartet.

Das Ziel der Initiative: Der Aufbau einer zentralen Instanz zur Qualitätssicherung im GDSN-Stammdatenpool für den deutschen Markt, damit sämtliche Produktdaten vollständig, korrekt und termingerecht allen Partnern in der Wertschöpfungskette bereitstehen.

Grundlage des Programms ist die Anwendungsempfehlung der GS1 Germany „Datenqualität im deutschen GDSN-Zielmarkt sichern“. In der Anwendungsempfehlung haben Hersteller und Handelspartner gemeinsam Verfahren zur Messung der Datenqualität definiert und entwickeln fortlaufend weitere Prüfregeln und Prüfverfahren, um den stetig wachsenden Anforderungen an die digitalen Produktinformationen gerecht zu werden.

Die erste Version dieses Datenqualitätsstandard der GS1 Germany (DQ-Standard) wurde im Dezember 2016 veröffentlicht. Seitdem wird der DQ-Standard zusammen mit Industrie und Handel kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt, und neue Versionen werden quartalsweise veröffentlicht.

DAS DATA QUALITY GATE

Begleitend zum DQ-Standard wurde das sogenannte Data Quality Gate (DQG) als zentrales Qualitätssicherungssystem aufgebaut. Aufgabe des DQG ist es, die praktische Umsetzung und Einhaltung des DQ-Standards bei der Datenbereitstellung im GDSN zu gewährleisten. Dazu empfängt das DQG die Produktdaten über den GDSN-Datenpool, prüft diese automatisiert gemäß dem DQ-Standard und versendet Prüfberichte an die Dateneinsteller – und, als wichtige Neuerung mit der neuen DQG-Version, zukünftig auch an die Datenempfänger. Alle Dateneinsteller sind aufgefordert, durch die aktive Nutzung der DQG-Berichte und die umgehende Korrektur möglicher Qualitätsmängel, sicherzustellen, dass sämtliche Daten vollumfänglich den Anforderungen des DQ-Standards genügen.

Entlang der Weiterentwicklung des DQ-Standards sind für das Jahr 2018 insgesamt vier neue Versionen (Releases) des Data Quality Gates geplant.

Die Datenqualitätsinitiative der GS1 Germany erfolgt im gemeinsamen Auftrag von Industrie und Handel

Sowohl der DQ-Standard der GS1 Germany, als auch der Aufbau des Data Quality Gates und alle Entscheidungen zur Funktionsweise und zu den Prozessen des DQG werden zusammen von Industrie und Handel erarbeitet, verabschiedet und kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Daher wird von allen GDSN-Nutzern eine aktive Teilnahme am DQG-Programm erwartet.

Data Quality Gate

DQG Hotline

Sie haben Fragen zum Betrieb des Data Quality Gates der GS1 Germany?

Unsere Mitarbeiter stehen Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung!
Sie erreichen uns unter:

T +49 221 94714420
E dqg@smartdataone.de